photo

Hello! My name is Lashon Bonaventure from the Bronx. I am one of Ms. Wong’s Wonders! In my school, I have a mission. My mission is called Project Play.  Project Play is about being active each day, eating right and basically  about being healthy. So I came up with an idea. I thought, “why not make a garden filled with vegetables.” The students at my school made a garden up of pallets. I got my team of 4th and 5th graders ready for the garden. At the meeting, I  explained about the grant I won through GENYOUth Now and how important it is for us as the upper academy to be healthy leaders. At the meeting, we talked about buying the gym equipment for more active play and recess time. Then we talked about the garden.  I also talked about the Fuel Up To Play Summit I attended over the summer. The summit was about leadership.  So now that my team is equipped with knowledge, we’re ready to change my school and everyone in it! The problem with my school is there are too many unhealthy kids. My team and I plan to change that. See the pictures below as we, my council and me, worked to put together the pallet garden for fall produce. Now we have our work cut out for us as we teach the whole school about living healthy!!!

photo-1 photo-2 photo-3 photo-4 photo-6 photo-5 photo-7 photo-8 photo-9

